The Truth About Being in Love

They say you always believe your first love is your last and your last love in your first. I dont know who “they” are, but boy were they wise.

My first love was a boy. We did everything together. He had his license and a car. We went to the beach and camping on the weekends. Fishing was our sport. He was the cutest boy around. Problem was, when he started pulling away after two years, I willingly broke it off. No tears, no drama. I thought I knew what true love was, that is, until I met my wife, Crystal.

I guess you could say that the word love had been redefined. I can honestly say that I had never felt the way I do about her. Never in a lifetime would I have thought that 9 years later, the word would be redefined again, when our daughter Kaydence was born. Now, I am lucky enough to have two loves. My world is filled with so much love these days that I sometimes take it for granted. I am so comfortable with the life we live now that I take that for granted too.

Is this not the point though? To fall in love and start a family? To be happy?

Now, I get jealous sometimes and so does my wife. It a natural thing and even healthy for a relationship in small doses, I would say. It proves that the person is important to you and you are important to them.

We even argue. The trick is to try to talk things out before you go to bed and if you cant for whatever reason, then as soon as possible. Don’t let the resentment build. You would not know the good times from the bad times if you didnt experience both!

We have hurt eachother deeply but gotten through it.  It is the second part of this sentance that is most important. We may have fallen, but that is irrelevant,  we stood straight back up. Love can face the ugliest things and walk back out alive. It never gives up. And that is the truth!

By JL Meicht – Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

